A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Microsoft 4000 keyboard versus Logitech - The Avon lady

Posted: Aug 28, 2014

i have been using the Microsoft 4000 keyboard for quite a few years now and love the shape and features, but it doesn't seem to last more then 5 or 6 months, so when it starts acting up I just order a new one off Amazon and keep the replacement close by until the old one dies.  When looking tonight for my next replacement, I spotted the Logitech wave combo mk550 wireless with a wireless mouse.  The keyboard is just a little different but the wireless part appeals to me.  I won't buy the wireless Microsoft because it is just too much for a keyboard that might only last a few months.  Any thoughts on Logitech wireless?

Microsoft keyboard- I have had the - Logitec K350

[ In Reply To ..]
wireless keyboard and mouse for about 3 years and I work on it a lot, several of the letters are worn off the keys, and I hit my keys hard too (learned on a manual typewriter). I had used the Microsoft before and got tired of replacing it at least once a year, so I have been happy with the Logitech.

Microsoft 4000 comes with a warranty. - n/m

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

You might give it a try with a "used" one - Anemone

[ In Reply To ..]
Right now, they have a new/used Logitech one for around $30 on Amazon -- Love my wireless trackball and mouse, not sure it would make much difference with a keyboard and -- yikes!! -- more batteries.

I buy used Microsoft 4000 regularly for around $26-27 free shipping and probably wouldn't switch brands, unless there were cheap "used" ones available.

I'd read the reviews rather carefully. I usually kill mine with a tipped over cup of coffee or soda, but they function well-enough, I think longer than 6 months ... and my recent two or three have lasted better. (I always keep a new one available in case).