A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Being switched to different platform - Kindaconfused

Posted: Aug 19, 2011

I'm fairly new at the Q. Good line rate to start (10 cpl) on straight typing, but the account with all that straight typing has gone away and now I'm getting only VR editing (4 cpl) on a different account. I asked to be placed back on a straight typing account and they're switching me to a Spheris Legacy Platform next week. Can anybody give me a clue as to what the heck that might entail? I supposedly have to do some E-training first. Anyone familiar with this platform, please give me any heads up needed. I'm a little bit confused and quite a bit concerned about this whole thing. Only been here a short time.

Do you know... - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
if you'll be working on Clarity/Cornerstone platform? If so, that's where I work. Feel free to email me, and hopefully I can help you.

me too - me

[ In Reply To ..]
I was offered 10 cpl for straight typing also but told that 90% of the work was VR at 4 cpl - doing the math, no way could I survive on that. I stuck with my straight typing job and glad I am of it. :) Good luck.

Legacy Platforms - Kindaconfused

[ In Reply To ..]
I'm not aware if the platform is Clarity/Cornerstone. Guess I'll find out Monday. Thanks for your kind offer. I'll keep be touch if needed.

different platform - tanzie

[ In Reply To ..]
Hate to say it, but you fell for it line and sinker when they started you at 10 cpl - that's the way they get ya -tell you that you're going to have straight typing and then boom one day it's all VR. Don't have a clue about the platform you're talking about, and did they say that it would be straight typing like you want? Most people are told tough luck if you don't want to do VR (if you have a good CCM maybe that'll help, but don't count on that either as orders come from above), and we all know that straight typing is going the way of the dinosaur.