A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

question for MTs that have switched to VR - frustrated former MT

Posted: Apr 20, 2010

I have only been doing this since February but I hate it.  I have no motivation and my production stinks.  How much more time should I give it before I give up on it?  I really wanted to try it; love the company I work for, just am not making enough money.  I have to admit, though my attitude is terrible.  I don't even want to get out of bed and go to work these days anymore.  How long did it take for you guys to make the change?  I have been an MT for 27 years, can this old dog learn this new trick?

VR - mt

[ In Reply To ..]
Working nearly 100% VR at MedQuist has pummeled my salary down to minimum wage on many days.

It's all about the platform and how well it works with the accounts. Our VR platform at MQ is horrible.

Switch to VR - Raine59

[ In Reply To ..]
I've been doing VR for a couple of years. I have gotten used to it to the point that it's hard to do a regular transcription note (which I very rarely do). The only thing I don't like about it is that my pay has gone down and I haven't heard anyone say that their pay has gone up after switching to VR. It's always down. It seems to be the wave of the future. You mentioned "giving up on it" but do you have the choice to go back to regular transcription? Even though I made more doing regular transcription, now only the most horrible doctors are on regular transcription so going back wouldn't even help. In short, you will get used to it over time (hard to say how long, several months probably) but your pay will probably never recover.

can you elaborate on how much your pay has gone down? - not being snoopy

[ In Reply To ..]