A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Trying to change jobs for the first time... need advice! - anon

Posted: Jan 19, 2011

I am in the process of trying to find a new job. I have been working at my current job for 4 months. This was my first job, so I am a little nervous when it comes to giving notice. I am worried that they might try to keep me because, as far as I can tell, they will have a significant overflow on my accounts if I do leave. I really like my job and accounts, but I do not have anywhere near enough work, and the schedule is not working for me anymore. I am worried about what they will do if I try to leave - for example, if they make false promises and tempt me to stay, then I miss out on a better opportunity, or if they get angry or pushy. I don't even know if anything like this happens, but I am a little anxious about the whole thing. I would really appreciate any advice or personal stories you can give!

Standard advice for this-have another job going before you - leave the 1st job. nm

[ In Reply To ..]
x

Oh yes, I do not plan on giving notice until I have another job - anon

[ In Reply To ..]

Change jobs - Frustrated

[ In Reply To ..]
Just my advice here. If you can possibly hang on there until you have been there at least 6 months, it would look better on your resume'. This being your first job, the longer you can stick it out the better. There are MTs with 10-25 years' experience looking elsewhere as well, so there is a lot of competition for jobs. I have been doing this almost 10 years and had to grit my teeth and endure my first job for 1-1/2 years.

Good point. - nm

[ In Reply To ..]
x

I agree about the resume thing, but... - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
as far as my current job, I am making less than $200 a month