A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Too bad the United States wont do this. - It would be fantastic. SM

Posted: Apr 24, 2014

It's about time somebody starts this, or has the guts to make such a law and enforce it.

I'd love to see it here.   For heaven's sake, I had exchange students years ago who came here from Europe who spoke a hundred times better than some of these morons we transcribe.  I believe half of it is sheer laziness, maybe they simply don't care to make the effort to speak better, thinking possibly that if good enough gets them through life, that's all the more effort they will put forth.  Or maybe it's the "God complex" thing;  I'm a doctor and I'm going to do this my way and you work with me. 

I am absolutely ecstatic to see this and loudly applaud the Dutch people.   You go to a foreign country to make a new life,  then make the effort to learn the new language and use it properly. 

I know... who in their - wildest dreams

[ In Reply To ..]
would have thought immigrants would need better English skills to get a job at McDonald's than to work as a doctor in a hospital? I have also come across native speakers with speech impediments so bad you would have thought someone in their lives at some time would have seriously recommended working with a speech pathologist.

What really irks me is that as a native US - citizen who speaks English - SM

[ In Reply To ..]
because that's what most of the other people born in this country speak, I can't get a job these days because I don't speak Spanish, Russian, Vietnamese or Chinese. What's wrong with this picture?

Similar Messages:

Does Anyone Know How Many Total CMTs There Currently Are In The United States?
Apr 17, 2011

Does AHDI list the total number of U.S. CMTs anywhere on their website?  I have been looking, but could not find anything.  Anyone have any idea what the number might be currently?    ...