A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

This is a rant. - PSM

Posted: Dec 22, 2012

Let me preface by saying that I am not a veteran in this field. I have only been a MT for about a year and a half. I graduated from one of the AHDI accepted schools. In the short time I have been working, I have worked for both of the national MTSOs. In my opinion the grass is brown on either side of the fence. I was originally enamored by the possibility of working from home and setting my own schedule. The later may be true if you have experience and are fortunate enough to hire on with a good company.

This is where I start my rant. Before MT I worked for over 6 years in various call centers. Benefit wise, the worst company provided me with 40 hours of PTO, 24 hours of sick time, and 8 hours of floating holiday a year. Oh yeah, I also always received benefits whether I was part time or full time. The thing that really gets me is that expirience was not a huge factor. Most companies would hire candidates with no experience, and almost everyone got hired at the same hourly rate. If you were lucky you got a higher rate because you had experience, but that was not common. What was more common and actually average throughout my experience was yearly raises based on performance, which is almost nonexistent in MT positions.

Working from home has degraded this profession. If they can not see us, they do not care (this is just my opinion by the way). Working from home is a benefit to the MTs as well as the companies we work for. We are not seen as more than something that delivers reports in a timely manner. The only time we are brought to our manager’s attention is when we are not making our line count or accuracy. We are nothing more than a blip on their radar. As long as we are within their standards, we are nothing.