A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

New pathology transcription job, info needed - mamaraeMT

Posted: Jun 28, 2013

I am about to start a new in-house path transcription job for a laboratory. I did transcription for about 6 years up until I quit last spring. My specialties then were ortho and PT, so I have no experience in pathology. The new company is well aware of this and is willing to train and be patient with me learning on the job. Even so, I am so very nervous as I know this is a whole different ballgame with terminology. They do autopsies as well. Are there sites I should read up on or dictionaries that you would recommend to help me become familiar with this field so I'm not driving everybody nuts when I start? Any info provided is so very much appreciated!!!

pathology - love it

[ In Reply To ..]
Try just typing forensic pathology terminology, autopsy terminology, laboratory pathology terminology in google. There are many, many websites. The first 3 or 4 listed in google would probably be the best to chose, but I am sure you will find lots of information, even how they perform the autopsy. Too many to mention here.

mamaraeMT - Old Pro

[ In Reply To ..]
Try this site. It is very helpful:

http://cal.vet.upenn.edu/projects/pathterm2/glossary/glossary.htm

I did path for years and loved it. Congratulations on your new job!

did you get my job? - Texas

[ In Reply To ..]
are you the one who got the job I applied for? I didn't even get an interview. I really wanted that job. Congratulations!

(nm) No, Upstate NY. Thank you! - mamaraeMT

[ In Reply To ..]
X

What is different with Pathology (sm) - Rose

[ In Reply To ..]