A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Pathology transcription - difference besides learning the format? - LAT

Posted: Mar 26, 2012

I have 18 years experience in acute care transcription in just about everything except "pathology transcription."  I have done a lot of ops of all kinds, oncology, neurology, cardiology, infectious disease, etc.  Is Pathology transcription that different?  I've done tumor staging, chemo protocols, just about any type of EEG, TEE, cath, radiology, etc.  The reason I'm asking is I saw a job for a "Pathology transcriptionist" and I really believe I'm qualified with my knowledge, but havent typed "pathology reports."  Can someone who has been a pathology transcriptionist tell me the difference besides learning the format?

Really not a lot of difference (sm) - Lillie

[ In Reply To ..]
With your experience you would do fine. I have 11 years experience and was asked to take over the path account after an MT left...and I had NO prior experience. The only thing is, the gross reports are very very short and if you are paid cpl, you have to be very efficient in developing shortcuts to be able to zip in and out of reports. They basically say the same thing so it is easy to make short cuts. Email me if you have further questions. I really enjoy my pathology account. but warning - during gross pathology they wear face masks due to formalin which makes for a pretty noisy background.

I agree with Lillie - AnonToo

[ In Reply To ..]
I have not done pathology straight for a long time, but it's highly doable..although short. I'm one of the freaks that PREFERS operative reports though.

Similar Messages:

Pathology Transcription - What Is The Difference?
Apr 10, 2014