A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

IC schedules - new to this

Posted: Sep 08, 2010

I am new to independent contractor status, so I just have a few questions, so bear with me.  I will be contracted with a company to do the work, who is contracted with the the business that needs the work done.  I was told of the work schedule.  I was told by a legal person that ICs set their own schedules; days/hours to work.  So which is it?  Can the transcription company that I would contract with tell me the hours I need to work or can I tell them which hours/days I can work?  And how do holidays play into it?  I wouldn't get time and a half for a holiday, would I? 

IC status - Happy MT Robin

[ In Reply To ..]
the trade off for being an IC is that you do not get holiday pay or benefits of any sort. The good part is you get to set your own schedule.

It's sort of a gray area. The employer CANNOT tell you that you have to work from 3 pm to 11 pm every night. They can, however, phrase it as the work is available from 3 pm to 11 pm, but that is walking a very thin line.

Some of the criteria for being a contractor as opposed to an employee in any industry is does the employer specifically tell you how to do your job, does the employer supervise how you do your job, does the employer provide the tools/equipment you need to do the job. Again, it's a very gray area.

Most people will tell you that as an IC you do not abide by a schedule the MTSO sets. If the MTSO says you must work such and such a time, then they are treating you as an employee and must classify and pay you as such.