A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

I hate learning this way - anon

Posted: Apr 01, 2010

I wish somebody would figure out a way to train new hires other than setting them down with only a few hours training and letting them type their entire shift without a word from anyone, only to have QA come in the next morning and correct all the reports. I hate learning this way, I do something wrong, spell something about the facility wrong, all night long only to learn the next day that it is wrong. It is such a waste of my and my QAs time to do it this way, it sucks. And heaven forbid you have more than 1 person doing QA and you get different information!

Sorry, just frustrated with a huge batch of e-mails every day telling me how much I don't know, and I've been doing this for nearly 10 years!

Learning - celloman

[ In Reply To ..]
I hate learning this way also, as a newbie, reading all the different points of view of how things are done, how things should be done and the number of what appears to be unhappy MT. I sad to find that when I started my training a little over a year ago, I learned what I thought would be more than comphrensive enough to get started in a new field, only to learn that after 10 years, someone telling you how much you don't know, but like others, I won't give up and I think I'm going to just go IC and make my own contacts in the community to get started.

Here's some helpful tips for you - jm0405

[ In Reply To ..]
Before starting an account, you have your acct specs. Get online and find that hospital. You save their page on your desktop cause their page has all the docs, RNs, RNPs names listed. You won't get those wrong.

On that web page, it shows city and state. From there, you go to search engine and type "nursing homes in Amarillo, TX" (as an example)...A list comes up - save that list to your desktop.