A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

coding student, freaking out - Just started V codes

Posted: Sep 12, 2013

I am a new coding student -- having taken three classes so far.  I was understanding everything, I thought, pretty well, and while I was not always able to get the right code, I always knew what I had done wrong.  But now V codes.  I can't find anything.   I don't even know what words to look up.   I feel like I'm lost.  Will this get easier?  I'm getting so discouraged.   

Chill -- nothing is wrong - Coder

[ In Reply To ..]
You are upset because V codes don't seem to work like other codes. (They don't.) You are doing pretty good, though, to notice that ... you don't know what to look up. See? You discovered what the problem is all by yourself! That tells me you were doing things right in those first three classes.

As it happens, the V codes are not as nicely done as the rest of them. They are quite annoying to look up. Nobody knows what to look up.

There is an easy way around this. Yes, it does NOT follow the rules, but it cannot be helped. Instead of looking them up in the Alphabetic Index first, go straight to the Tabular List V codes and read all the way through it from beginning to end. The section isn't that long. Make a note of anything that looks likely, then decide which it is.

This will show you what-all is in there. You will get much better at it very quickly.

Then, once you are sure of the code, use the wording in it to find it in the Alpha. In that way, you will eventually learn what to look up in the alpha.

I know this sounds heretical, but in this case, it is really the only way to survive. Never, ever do this with the other codes, but you pretty much have to for the V codes and, to a lesser degree, the E codes.