A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Learn from my mistake about picking a good coding program - sm

Posted: Jan 20, 2012

I am in my last semester of an HIT program at my local community college.  This program is accredited through CAHIIM.  I actually found this program on the AHIMA website as an approved AHIMA coding program and was so excited that it was in my hometown.  Well, almost two years later and $4000 in student debt, I still have no idea how to code.  Sure, I'm great at Math 101 and English 101 and my anatomy is amazing, but I have no idea how to code.  One class that I have this semester is coding authentic medical records, and I have no idea what I'm doing.  I get a few right here and there, but for the most part I have failed miserably.  Why? Because this program is taught all on-line, my teachers never answer my questions, I have no direction, I've pretty much taught myself everything, and no one actually teaches me HOW TO CODE!  I even attempted the CCA, which is the "easiest" exam, but I failed.  I don't even know if I'm going to sit for the RHIT when I'm done.  Needless to say, I wish I would've gone with Andrews from the start.  I could be certified and coding by now.  So here I am, still an MT, still broke, still credential-less and now 4k more in debt.  I have no idea what to do now, but I want to warn others to really, really, really research and investigate before going to a 2-year school.

Thank you! I will add.... - Reader99

[ In Reply To ..]
Thank you so much for taking the time to post about your experience. It truly is a service to others.

I will add a couple of things that I have learned just recently about "higher education:"

* Be careful while attending community colleges, etc. Talk with graduates of that particular class or program.