A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

I've tested for MedQuist, Webmedx and Amphion and - sm - anon

Posted: Feb 16, 2011

I've failed each test.  I actually passed the first set of tests for Webmedx, but then they gave me a VR test, and I've never done that before, so I failed.  I even got turned down at a local hospital.  I've been out of the field for the past 2 years taking care of my baby, so I'm very rusty right now.  I used to be a very good transcriptionist.  I've only worked from home once before.  The rest of my time has been spent working at a hospital.  I've done lots of research on here about different companies, but it seems like a lot of it is negative towards everywhere, so I'm afraid to test anywhere else.  From the different posts that I've read on here it sounds like I'd be better off just to get out of this profession altogether.  I don't know where to turn.  Any advice anyone can give would be greatly appreciated?  Thank you.   

My thoughts. sm - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
First, I don't think working at home as an MT is the best place for a new MT. As a former instructor, I think working at home is really best for those who have at least 5 years of recent acute care experience. You didn't say that you're a new MT, but my guess is you don't have 5 years of large-hospital, acute care experience.

Working in a hospital (if you can find such a position anymore--they're outsourcing to MT companies more and more) is usually a better option til you're a seasoned MT. You might be able to get something in a doctor's office, but there's danger that will also limit you to clinic transcription and not allow you to grow to master acute care MT.