A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Any companies out there that accept satellite 'net? - Tired Hunter

Posted: Mar 23, 2010

I'm in a rural area in the Midwest and currently have satellite Internet.  Seems like all the services are requiring DSL, which isn't available here.  I don't even know if wireless is an option.  Anyone know of service(s) needing experienced (20+ years) MTs?  Keep in mind, though, that I do want to be paid for the work.  :o)  I currently work as an IC and prefer no specified schedule so that I am able to work around my family members' medical appointments.  I'm so tired of hunting.  Anyone care to share info?

Satellite - sm - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
Friend of mine with only satellite availbility was hired by Zylomed - not sure if they have acute care or not though - she was radiology. Hope this helps.

Satellite - Tired Hunter

[ In Reply To ..]
Thanks for the info. I'll check it out. I have to admit, though, that radiology and pathology would be my least favorite specialties. Anyone else have any ideas?

Look for a rural provider - country living

[ In Reply To ..]
If you look, you might find an ISP in your area who provides high speed access from a broadcast tower. In my case, they broadcast from a water tower about 1-1/2 miles from my home.

I have their antenna mounted on the side of my house. It is real high speed internet -- without the latency delay of satellite.

My connection is secure and HIPAA compliant. It's about as good as any city hardwired high-speed connection.

When I drive the 35 miles from my home to the big city, I see a few signs from different small ISPs offering this kind of service.

Good luck!

Satellite - Tired Hunter

[ In Reply To ..]
I'll look around for signs next time I go to the city. Maybe I'll get lucky and find something. Thanks!

Similar Messages:

Superior Global Solutions...do They Accept Satellite?
Mar 28, 2012