A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

license for Speedtype was no longer valid - Exact-Med Student

Posted: Feb 23, 2013

I am currently an Exact-Med student.  They give each student Speedtype.  I had been using it, but my husband updated our Soundcard and then it said that my license for Speedtype was no longer valid.  So I had to purchased a new llicense for a "new computer" since by updating the sound card it changed settings on our hard disk.  Then we went on vacation and turned our computer off for 2 weeks and when I restarted it, it says my license is not good anymore....don't know why, but apparently something changed on our hard drive again and I will have to repurchase a replacement license again for Speedtype.  So I started looking and found Instant Text (actually from a recommendation on this forum) and tried it with the 30 day free trial.  I loved it.  I contacted Exact-Med (my training school) and asked them if they could get a discount on Instant Text for their students and explained my frustration with Speedtype to them, and they recommended that I speak with Betsy at Speedtype (which I did and was told I would have to purchase a replacement license AGAIN), because ALL the employers that they place their students with REQUIRE Speedtype.  Is this true, that employers require only certain expansion programs????  I really like Instant Text, but I can't shell out $180 on a program to use only during my training and then when/if I find employment cannot use it and have to purchase another one.  Thanks for any help!

Total BS - you can use whatever expander you - sm - XXX

[ In Reply To ..]