A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Hospital Transcription Department to National Company - Curious

Posted: Apr 29, 2014

Is there anybody here who worked for a hospital in the transcrption department only to have their jobs yanked out from under t hem and sent to a National such as Nuance?  I know somebody who works for a local hospital and it looks like they secretly are in the process of making this move....some very strange secretive things going on that makes me wonder...... What was the  process for your hospital if this happened to you?????  I'm wondering if my suspicions are spot-on.  

Didn't this happen with a University Hospital - in PA?

[ In Reply To ..]
I have no personal knowledge of this, but I seem to remember hearing something along these lines.

Hospital transcription department to national company - Tinker

[ In Reply To ..]
UPMC in Pittsburgh was the university hospital in Pittsburgh. The same thing happened to me at a different hospital in Southwestern Pennsylvania but went with another company.

hospital transcription - outsourcing

[ In Reply To ..]
That happened at the hospital I worked at. We were all offered jobs with the outsourcing company if we wanted to take it but only about half went with the outsourcing company. The supervisors were kept on to answer the phone and edit the work from the outsourcing company. We were also offered something called priority placement meaning every job I applied for I was automatically granted an interview as long as I qualified. Outsourcing was something that was talked about for years and the amount that was outsourced gradually increased. We were scared for years and it was coming and we were always told they would never go to total outsource and then it happened one day.

happened to me in like 2003 approx - ExMeridianer

[ In Reply To ..]