A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

AAMT book of style to be the set rules for our transcription department? - caitejess

Posted: Jan 19, 2010

I am currently looking for a new online job.  I have been doing medical transcription for nine years now but work for a small hospital.  I do not currently have, nor does my hospital require, the AAMT book of style to be the set rules for our transcription department.  We still use q.h.s. etc.  I recently had a job interview but blew it because the company requires their MTs to know the latest AAMT book of style front and back.  Is this a big deal to know this book word for word?  Wondering if I should get it to help me find a job.

No, not necessarily. - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
Not all employers use the book and those that do don't necessarily use every bit of it. Even though I resisted and resented the book for years, I finally gave in and actually found it helpful in some cases. It is a reference that I would say IS good to have on hand. Though my opinion is that most will use BOS II rather than the latest 3rd version.

BOS important! All style & format answers on the World Help board are acc to BOS..nm - ,

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

not necessarily referred to her first question, - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
which was: did she need to know the BOS word-for-word? I say no. I also re-state she will not even need it for all employers, as evidenced by the one she currently works for not using it.
she needs it for "testing." No need to know it word by word! As reference!..nm..nm - .
[ In Reply To ..]
nm

you need it for taking tests and PASS..nm - .

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

AAMT - anony

[ In Reply To ..]
AAMT is good to know, as well as for people that go "by the book." I have found it helpful.

AANT - frustrated

[ In Reply To ..]
Thank you all for the helpful information. I will get the book and hope to have an interview soon.

Similar Messages:

AAMT Book Of Style On MQCentral Maze??