A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Working with kids - MTC

Posted: Mar 30, 2010

For all the moms out there, How do you do it with kids and trying to work? I am in the situation of deciding on whether or not to keep paying daycare. I wanted to be at home and be more available to my kids. I find myselft thinking that maybe if I let my sitter go, then that would be more money in my pocket, meanwhile, I wonder how I would work if I did let her go. Good dependable, trustworthy sitters are hard to find. Does anyone have any advice or stories on how you can be successful at both...working at home and having the family life to?

Change your schedule - beNice

[ In Reply To ..]
I was taking care of an aging parent and my son so I decided to work while they were sleeping. As an independent contractor I had the flexibility so I would start at 2-4 a.m. and work until it was time to take care of them and after I got them settled I would go back to work. It really worked out fine because I could not afford to pay child care.

Kids - MTC

[ In Reply To ..]
I think that would be option for me as well. I am doing independent contract work also, so it is flexible. I just keep thinking that full time daycare pay could be spared, and I would be the person taking care of my child instead of the sitter. Thanks for the information. I just wanted to see how others are making it work out.

working with kids - shelly

[ In Reply To ..]