A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

disk or disc - also....grade 2 or grade II - Ann

Posted: May 04, 2012

Two questions that I need clarification on please.  (1)  Is it disc or disk and also (2) is it grade 2 or grade II?

Thanks.

disk unless regarding eye and grade 2. - mt2

[ In Reply To ..]
stage use roman numerals.

thanks for reply - Ann

[ In Reply To ..]
Thanks so much! That's the way I have been doing them both for 20 years but it came into question lately so I wanted to double check with someone else for confirmation.

Reality - mt123

[ In Reply To ..]
It depends on what the client wants. I have some who want disk for the back, grade 2 and some who want disc for the back and grade II and some who want a mixture of the two. Since they are who cut the checks, that's who's "BOS" to me :)

agree with mt123 - disc

[ In Reply To ..]
All Stedman's reference books show disc over disk as the preferred spelling for the back. My son-in-law who is a radiologist says he and his colleagues prefer disc, as that is how it is spelled in all the textbooks they learned from. That's what drives me nuts about AAMT - they think they can change the rules however they want at their whim and we MUST consider the BOS as the BIBLE OF TRANSCRIPTION! Bottom line... it depends on the client.

This has so sporadically changed throughout - the years & like Ann said

[ In Reply To ..]
...it always bends to the company's will regardless of BOS.

Similar Messages:

Grade 2 / Grade II Sprain Of The Ankle (also, Is Grade Capped) ?? Nm Thx
Mar 04, 2011

x ...

Grade 1 Or Grade I Diastolic Dysfunction
Jul 31, 2013

grade 1 or grade I diastolic dysfunction????? ...

Disk Versus Disc - Degenerative Disk/disc Disease?
Sep 26, 2014