A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

What is a fair hourly rate? - Anon

Posted: Mar 29, 2014

Can anybody please tell me what is a fair hourly rate for a transcriptionist in a single-doctor office in Texas? The last time I worked as an MT in a clinic was 18 years ago. I then worked for a large hospital and made about $9 more an hour than my highest clinic pay. After getting laid off, I worked for N for a few months and have been out of the MT field for a little over a year. Thanks in advance!

I was only making $10 an hour after 13 years - Depressed

[ In Reply To ..]
at the same doctor's office until 2 years ago. Then they were all going to electronic records and no longer needed transcribers.

Wow, thanks! - Anon

[ In Reply To ..]
I made $13.25 at a four-doctor clinic 18 years ago as their only MT, which wasn't enough $ back then considering the amount of work I did. I have been an MT for 30+ years. I have an interview next week and have a strong feeling they won't pay what I want and am wondering if I'm expecting too much. It appears I am, unfortunately. Thanks so much!

11 years ago I was only making $8/hour at the hospital - transcribing. I make much more

[ In Reply To ..]
with an MTSO. Just sayin.

I made $14 and some change plus incentive at the - hospital I worked for. Obviously it

[ In Reply To ..]
Varies depending on hospitals and location because I made wonderful money and there were people in the dept that made more hourly than I did and we got incentive every pay check as long as we made production.
This is close to what I made... - (see message)
[ In Reply To ..]
Just like this poster, I made base pay plus incentive at the hospital. I made $15.68/hr plus incentive which varied from check to check but generally averaged anywhere from $19-$22/hr. I was at the top of the pay grade, though, having been there 18 years.