A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Stop letting these companies advertise their "jobs" here....sm - Tiny

Posted: Apr 17, 2011

8 cpl is what I started at 6 or 7 years ago, I'm still seeing this number and of course much lower. How are companies getting away with this nonsense of not paying for spaces, paying 5 cpl, etc.

In my opinion 8 cpl + typing for large teaching hospitals with 18 pages of specifications = really low pay.

The one way I can think to put an end to these companies and their crappy pay, besides no one taking these jobs, is to stop letting them advertise on MT stars and other MT boards unless they offer a fair wage. They know how popular this board and others like this one are. If they want to advertise a job for 5 cpl doesn't include spaces...etc.....let them advertise elsewhere. Why are they allowed here? I find it completely insulting. I've been doing this for at least 13 years and if I weren't working for a hospital right now I know I would not be doing this for a living. I feel for you transcriptionists out there being exploited and cheated. It makes me want to start my own company.

It's late, I just worked an 11 hour shift, and I'm a bit cranky. But, continuing to let these companies advertise their crappy, low paying jobs on this board really has to stop. Maybe I'm wrong?

They should be forced to stop paying less than - minimum wage! Oh, they CLAIM - S/M

[ In Reply To ..]
they offer a fair wage, and that it meets or exceeds each state's minimum. They *claim* that if we're not making min. wage, it's because we're:
Lazy
Undereducated
Inexperienced
Stupid
Too young
Too old
and yes, "too American"!

The MTSOs are artful dodgers that have learned how to skirt most of America's employment laws. One of the best ways being, of course, by simply sending the work AWAY FROM AMERICA.