A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Left at home transcription.... - MT

Posted: Jul 02, 2011

I have been doing transcription for about 15 years now. After leaving MedQuist due to their bad management, I have been hopping around for several years not able to find the right match for me. Everything that sounds great at the beginning turns out to be the opposite. Either the pay is cut in half for their horrible speech recognition or it pays well and the program that they use just isn't very productive. I realized I had no choice but go back into the hospitals when my last position which was great, using DocQscribe and paid a fair rate, well it ended because the company lost the accounts for an unknown reason to us. I think they were just doing too much. So anyway, with three children I realize I need to do something so I went back to working in a local hospital last week. While I miss my kids, I realize this is the only thing that will keep us from being homeless, and it pays well so it will get us back on our feet. It didn't help that while struggling doing at home transcription, I had a car crash that totaled our only vehicle (Kid made a wrong left turn and hit me head on). So anyway, while I never thought I would like going back out into hospitals, I'm loving it and feel so much less stressed knowing that our bills will be taken care of and we'll be able to do the fun things we have missed out on. I just wish the chance to work at home was still there, but it almost seems like I will have to give up on working at home altogether because after spending 3 years looking for a good at-home job since MedQuist went downhill (loved them for the first 5 years), I just don't have the time and my bills won't wait for me to find something else at home.