A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Completely lose my rhythm when - waiting for jobs

Posted: Jul 31, 2010

Okay-- finally got a few jobs to do after hours of NJA. But I lost my rhythm. I don't even know what to do with them. I feel like a cat looking at some strange object on the floor and tapping it with its paw. What are those two weird things in my queue? I look at them. Then I check my email. Then I look at the things in the queue again. Then I go get something to drink. In the back of my mind, it seems like there is something I need to do about those things in my queue, but I can't remember exactly what. Finally I start very slowly to do the jobs. Sheesh! And to think I used to be a high producer at the hospital. How does anybody keep their rhythm when they get-- let's see-- no jobs at 8 AM, 2 jobs at 11 AM, 3 jobs at 1 PM, a job at 4 PM, and 6 jobs at 8 PM? Then as a PS, 2 more jobs at 11 PM. It feels so disjointed. I can't even work when I HAVE work. There is no flow. No flow, people! No flow! (rant rant)

great description. and I agree. - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I can't hardly function with a job here, and a job there. Cannot get a rhythm, or a momentum. It increases my distractability and decreases my motivation. I'd much rather work under high pressure than low volume.

lost - rhythm

[ In Reply To ..]
Glad to hear you agree. Thought maybe I was just a lazy "loser transcriptionist"! I just cannot start from zero, pounce on a job and start working furiously. It usually takes at least an hour of steady work to hit my stride.

you're definitely not alone. - no mess.

[ In Reply To ..]
x

Waiting - What prisoners do - It's their punishment. And drudgery. - Sitting here waiting...

[ In Reply To ..]
As my life passes before my eyes, I sit here waiting. As time passes without a job, my mental calculator subtracts income, like a debit card.

I hate this.