A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

building a resume - cjjmt

Posted: Apr 27, 2012

I recently applied for a coding position at a hospital.  The last line of the job listing said, "Motivated students with strong interest in coding may be considered." 

In my resume, I explained what I was currently doing; taking the AAPC coding course, and in using directly quoted info from the AAPC website (below where it starts...."This course teaches"... and ends with ......"volume 3 procedure coding".  

I am currently a student in the CPC-H® coding course administered by AAPC, and upon completion will be taking the certification exam. This course teaches fundamental coding skills for an outpatient hospital/facility and ASC setting and prepares the student to take AAPC's CPC-H® exam for a career in medical coding. It is aimed at teaching the correct application of CPT®, HCPCS Level II procedure and supply codes and ICD-9-CM diagnosis codes used for coding and billing outpatient facility and ASC services to insurance companies. This course also covers the basic concepts of MS-DRGs and ICD-9-CM Volume 3 procedure coding.

My question to coders out there is, will this hinder or benefit my application for this employer?

Resume - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
I would have really taken a good hard look at that resume when I was in a hiring position at a hospital (HIM Director) a few years ago! Especially since they specifically state students are welcome to apply. Our requirement was that even if you were in the course, you had xx amount to time to take and pass the CPC exam, but it enabled us to get people trained on the system that we used as they were training and it all worked out very well that way. It also helped the coders who were still in school because we generally placed those students with the certified coders to help them out. Best of luck to you! :)

why would - it hinder?

[ In Reply To ..]