A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Any updates on Spheris? - Reg

Posted: Mar 31, 2010

I have a phone interview with them in April.  I noticed there were posts about them going bankrupt, etc.   I'm fairly new to this, and need a job right away.

I'd say go ahead with it - MO MT

[ In Reply To ..]
They will be acquired by another company soon. Even if you are only with them for a short while (and I believe most, if not all, employees will simply go along with whoever buys Spheris) it will be good experience. They have a good training program and working looks better on your resume than not working. I work for Spheris and it has been quite all right for me. :) Good luck.

Yup, Spheris will be a good experience all right - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
Especially when you have to get in line with the other creditors and take 10 cents on the dollar for your salary owed. Wake up, people!

just read the MQ board - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
because most likely MQ will buy Spheris, and you will then be a MQ employee.

Good times!
Doesn't change a thing I said - MO MT
[ In Reply To ..]
I'm not nuts about what I read about MQ, either, but if I had listened to all the belly-aching about Spheris on these boards, I'd never have started with them either. Different folks get different mileage, even at MQ.

We'll see what happens. I am betting salaries will be paid.

And for a beginner, training is training and working is better than not working.
to MO MT - anon
[ In Reply To ..]
I agree with you completely....experience and a job is better than no experience and no job.

I just hate the fact that there is such a pattern at MQ, one that my eyes have finally been opened to after reading this board for the past 6 months. Things will seem fairly ok and normal in the short-term after MQ buys up a company, but then slowly but surely, things will begin to change, and not ever in a positive way from an MT's perspective.