A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Realistic salary for a newbie? - raquel

Posted: Nov 20, 2013

I see a lot of courses claiming that starting salary can be anywhere from $25-$40K per year. I used to work as a word processor years ago and I still type 80+wpm, so I think I'd be good at this job. So what is realistic to expect in the first year as far as salary?

Ah, Raquel... - ...where to begin....

[ In Reply To ..]
With rare exceptions, this is rapidly turning into a minimum wage job.

Re: Ah, Raquel... - ...where to begin.... - raquel

[ In Reply To ..]
I realize this is just a job, that's all I'm looking for. I'd just like some feedback on what is reasonable to expect as far as first year earnings if working full-time. I'd really like to hear from MTs that have started working this year. Thanks.

It IS reasonable to expect minimum wage - Dori

[ In Reply To ..]
Only hearing from new MTs isn't going to tell you anything. Most of us make the same crap wages. Most companies have a set pay, meaning you start there, you end there - you will NEVER get a raise. You will find it very difficult to find a job where you actually type out the report. Most of what you will do is voice recognition which means you will simply be "editing" what a junk system puts out. How many words per minute you can type means absolutely nothing in that case. Most companies now treat you worse than a dog. You will be scrutinized to death and will lose your sanity and self respect quickly. These are all reasonable expectations. To dismiss these facts simply because you only want to hear from new MTs who have not had the will to live beaten out of them yet is not doing yourself any favors. If you don't need the money then go volunteer somewhere and save yourself the heartache.

raquel - AM

[ In Reply To ..]
No one will hire a newbie. Nick was right; give it up.