A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

PRODUCTION PAY - CINDY

Posted: Nov 02, 2009

I would like to know how MTSO's get away with paying MTs and MT editors not hourly, not salary, but solely on how much they produce like they are working on an
"assembly line"!!! 

Being paid on how much one produces is "pathetic" and is not paying MTs/Editors based on their "knowledge, skill, or experience", and I think is an injustice to the medical transcription profession as a whole.

What happens also when an MT/editor works over 40 hours per week.  By federal law an employee has to be paid time and a half.  How does that figure into the equation if you are being paid on production?

I have been an MT for 25 years first learning in 1979, and am basically self-taught and have done acute care, pathology, radiology, etc.

I have worked for MTSOs part-time and you have to have good accounts, good dictators, and a good volume of work, etc., to make any money.  You basically have to work like a dog to make any money, and you are lucky if you gross $50k a year, and if you do and you are an "independent contractor" (not an employee of the MTSO), you pay double social security tax, have to provide your own computer, internet service, etc. 

I would NEVER work for an MTSO full-time!!!

The botton line here people is the only ones making the money are the MTSOs not the MT/editors. 

Majority if not all paid on production now. Gone - MT

[ In Reply To ..]
are the days of hourly (unless you're working in-house). OT is figured at line rate x 1.5.

MTSOs - MT2020

[ In Reply To ..]
Are MTSOs primarily smaller companies that hire Independent Contractors mostly?

MTSO = medical transcription service org. - Can be any size, large or small.

[ In Reply To ..]

REPLY TO PRODUCTION PAY - CINDY

[ In Reply To ..]