A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Dangerous dictators! - southernbelle

Posted: Apr 28, 2014

I had an idea and would like some feedback on it.  I was wondering why we don't just call up, anonymously of course, the hospitals repeatedly and complain about some of these dangerous dictators.  This really is a patient safety issue first and foremost, although it would be awesome to do something about them for our sake.  Anyone who works on account BC with the dictator Dr. RK knows this is a patient safety issue.  He is dangerous!  Thanks in advance for your opinions. 

Dangerous dictators - Dazed and Confused

[ In Reply To ..]
Where I used to work in a hospital system they had someone just to do that. They would call the doctor and talk with them regarding their dictation. But of course, the doc had to be very bad all the time for her to do that. These doctors chew gum, put the phone out and in all the time, talk loud for 5 min then seem to whisper. Then I notice Escription seems to be messing up a lot, leaving out sentences all the time and adding "and" to almost everything when it wasn't even dictated. It is a lot better than it used to be, but it seems to be regressing. It leaves out sentences and words that were clearly dictated. I guess that is job security lol

Easy answer is because it is not your job - It is tempting, but no

[ In Reply To ..]
I know it's tempting, but it's not your job and will certainly get you fired because there's no way to do this completely anonymously.

Your job is to complete a medical record to the best of your ability. If the information that you are given to complete that record is incomplete, then you do the best with what you have.

If the doctor is dangerous and is dictating errors that you know are errors, then you put a blank for either the facility or QA, which ever method that particular account uses. When you leave notes, leave them as professionally worded as possible.