A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Line quota and benefits - Pollyanna

Posted: Jun 09, 2010

It's an outrage to have your CPL cut in half with editing but for the company to expeCT scan the same quota (dollar wise per pay period) to maintain benefits is a kick in the teeth.   I'm not a newbie to this "career".    Now we have to have QUANTITY and QUALITY - no blanks.   If you can afford to stay in your desk 10-12 hours a day and watch your life slip by this may be for you.   How did we end up letting these companies rip us off like this?

I hear ya - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
I had my CPL rate go from 0.068 to 0.048 for ASR in January. I don't mean my transcription to ASR rate, but my actual ASR rate itself was decreased to 40% of my transcription rate. Sure, my required ASR lines are the same and yes I can get them in without a problem as long as I'm not dealing with NJA. However, now I've been told to get in more ASR lines to avoid getting PM'd for the minimum wage supplement thing. My ASR hourly rate figures out to be roughly $4.80 while my state's minimum wage is $8.55.

I don't see any reason why I should have to get in more than my required lines. If they don't like having to supplement my pay to bring it up to minimum wage level, THEN RAISE MY CPL EQUAL TO MINIMUM WAGE!!!!

I've decided I'm going to continue meeting my required lines as I've been doing.

I know they can't fire me just for having to pay me minimum wage. I already get audits about every 3 weeks and pass without problems. I also always work my scheduled hours and don't have variances in DQS/SS hours.

may I ask - when you received

[ In Reply To ..]
notice that you would be PM'd for earning minimum wage.

I am about 3 months into my paychecks being straight minimum wage. My state minimum wage is lower than yours, however. Maybe that is why I have not heard anything yet.

I am also PT and pass all audits with at least 98.5 or higher.