A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Just heard EPIC is now being trained at my main account - wonder how long before it goes away?

Posted: Aug 16, 2010

Does not surprise me.. the Canned reports featured in EPIC I am sure will take over to completely do away transcriptionists.  Clearly healthcare is okay with homogenous reports that really are not particular to the patient, just trying to stay within the slimmest margin of the law.  It's like legal liability insurance...the bare minimum required.

I worked in Epic - for several years

[ In Reply To ..]
My last hospital used it. It didn't do away with transcriptionists. I worked in it for 4-5 years.

All my doctors I go see for a physical and - at hospitals have NO MTs.

[ In Reply To ..]
Doctors basically do their own transcription by using the computer and filling in the blanks on a screen.

For clinic visits, sure - I worked in Epic doing acute care

[ In Reply To ..]
I think some of the clinic notes went to point & click, but they still dictated as usual in Epic for DS, ERs and ops.

I only do acute care.

EPIC not going away - Point and click

[ In Reply To ..]
EPIC is not going away. It provides doctors with point and click ability, along with a few keystrokes, and instant report. It is the death of the transcriptionist as we see it today.

Post about Medquist Epic. - Can eliminate transcription completely.

[ In Reply To ..]
http://www.news-medical.net/news/20100227/MedQuist-integrates-DEP-with-new-features-of-Epic-Systems-Hyperspace-Client.aspx

Medquist case study. Might be your hospital. - Some hospitals using MQ epic.

[ In Reply To ..]
Go to your MQCentral.

My hospital has had EPIC about a year, and I'm still here - L&L

[ In Reply To ..]
not that anyone on this board wants me to be...

Similar Messages:

See Post On Main Board About EPIC Clientele.
Mar 02, 2014