A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Planning to work at night. Suggestions needed - Praja

Posted: May 17, 2012

I am new here. I am on my way to apply for my first job...I graduated with Career Step with honors. I am planning to work part-time may 5 hours at night from 9:00 pm to 2:00 am, 7 days a week, which will make me work for 35 hours a week. Does any one knows of companies giving such flexibilty. Any suggestions would be highly appreciated. I am open to both Employee or IC status.Smile

Thanks.

nights - INMT

[ In Reply To ..]
Kudo's to you for graduating and being ready to enter the work force. There are a few things to consider in what you what/hope for.

If you work for a company as a full time employee I believe most state laws do not allow you to work 7 days a week. 35 hours to most companies, I believe is under their 40 Full time requirement so you might be considered part time and that requirement is usually 20 hours in 5 days. My experience is you work your 20, IF there is enough work for full time and more left over you are okayed to work more than 20, but management has to OK this usually.

As far as going IC, that will probably be something to discuss with that company or individual.

As far as working 7 days a week, SO DOWN. Burn out will occur YESTERDAY. Read these boards, all of them. We all get burned out, ask for help from one another to continue to be motivated long enough to just get the minimum lines/hours a day in.

I am happy to see you charged up and ready to work but please dont overdo at first, it will bite you back fast.