A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

A trend I am seeing - sm

Posted: Mar 15, 2011

I have noticed over the past few weeks that the majority of transcriptionists wanted ads (not on here) are in-house only.  I saw 11 job postings today looking for such and all were for in-house in different areas - and that's just today!  One of the companies I have a contract with has lost an account in the past month due to their hiring in-house staff instead. 

Anyone else notice this?

Yep. I have been saying this for a couple months. - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
Go to indeed.com and type in medical transcriptionist, but leave the location blank. Look at all of them that are in-house. It's amazing. I think the tide is turning somewhat, but I do think that the in-house jobs may be for SRT.

The trend I've been seeing in a lot of those ads - is that in many cases, its a move back - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
towards the jack-of-all-trades type of MT. Who is also functioning as an office secretary. In some instances that would be good, if you were wanting to learn other skills. Might be a way of hedging our bets when it comes to our job not being outsourced or offshored. Still, I for one would rather do straight transcription than answer phones. But I would rather answer phones than do straight VR.

been watching ads for years - and it's been that way for years. - many many sites. not new to me

[ In Reply To ..]
/

inhouse trend - cr

[ In Reply To ..]
Do you mean there's a trend away from outsourcing and back to hiring inhouse transcriptionists? If so, do you think it's because of the poor quality of transcription work turned in by services?

I think so. It's not that their MTs are low-quality, - but its hard to type 99% - s/m

[ In Reply To ..]