A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Interested in coding HIM - grace

Posted: Jul 26, 2012

I have been working as a transcriptionist from my home for almost 20 yrs.  As most, I am losing my account due to EMR.  I am considering pursuing other avenues such as coding or HIM.  Is this a good idea.  How is the job market for this.  I am also a Certified Medical Assistant but have not worked in an office in over 20 yrs.  Any ideas???

Go for it! - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
Personally, I think coding and/or HIM is a great field to get into. I really think the best field is healthcare informatics, if that is something you're interested in. If you decided to do coding, just make sure you go with a program that actually teaches you to code! So many community college certificate programs are a waste of time if you want to learn how to code, and I know this from experience!

yes, do it - student

[ In Reply To ..]
Hi Grace - I started my coding studies a couple of months ago, and I have not looked back. It is an amazing field. I am still a MT with about 20 years training, and honestly, with all that is going on in the field, well, it's just not what I want to do any more. If my butt is gonna be glued to the computer all day working (or waiting for work to dribble in), then I am going to be making the $$. The MT field has served me very well for a very long time, and I have no regrets. But, coding will allow me to have a more challenging position that is still in the medical field. I love to research and dig into things. Also, the coding field has more opportunities for advancement, unlike the MT field. Research the schools you are interested in attending, and ask lots of questions. From what I have read, the job outlook for medical coders is good. Best of luck.

student - MJINATL

[ In Reply To ..]