A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

MT interested in becoming biller/coder - Alice

Posted: Oct 06, 2010

Cool  Can anyone tell me if there is an online course, school, how long it takes, or what I need to do to find out how much it costs etc, to train in medical billing or coding. I have been an MT for 20 years and need to find a new and/or additional career. Thank you so much for your help. 

mt to biller/coder - Viva

[ In Reply To ..]
There are online schools for coding; they are costly but include all you need and you can work at your own pace.

There may also be adult ed schools in your area that offer coding classes.

Since you already know Med Terms and Anat./Phys, that will give you a leg up. Coding is very much like solving a puzzle and doing investigations. It is not as physically stressful as sitting and typing for hours as you do in MT.
I just started coding class in September and I am enjoying it. Just take time to absorb all the material and do the exercises in the workbook. We are using the textbooks from Ingenix and they are quite good.

about that physically stressful - cj

[ In Reply To ..]
I didn't find sitting and typing physically stressful but I can tell you that coding can be mentally stressful. The pressure on coders is pretty intense as coding drives billing and, of course, the govt has its hand in everything. Medicare edits, CCI edits, can and often do drive you nuts. Since private insurers follow Medicare's lead, you get edits all over the place! Then add the watchdog now of the RAC reviews. Couple that with the mostly poor documentation from the providers and the pressure to complete X number of charts per hour, and I find coding far more stressful than I ever did found MT, Just a different kind of stress.

Similar Messages:

Laboratory Tech Vs Coder/biller Health Info
Dec 31, 2009