A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Glad I found you guys, MT to CPC question - Shay

Posted: Mar 28, 2012

I'm so glad this board is here.  I have been an MT for 19 years.  I'm trying to break into the coding field.  I have worked around medical records for my entire career, first med records job (I know it's not called that any more) in 1979.  Then I worked in a hospital clinical area, then as an MT for 19 years while my kids were at home. 

I would like to translate this experience into a coding position.  In my MT work, I have mostly done acute care work, some outpatient procedures and emergency medicine, but my real love has alway been acute care. 

I'm afraid I made a mistake.  My instructor said that sitting for my CPC would be the best way to land a job in coding.  I sat for my CPC and passed the exam, though I'm certain I need more experience to really be a good coder. 

Basically my questions are.

Did I waste my time/money sitting for the CPC? 

Also, how do you get a job with no experience?  The postings I have seen so far require experience.  I obviously don't have that experience as I have the CPC-A for apprentice and need 2 years experience to have the apprentice designation removed. 

I don't mind sending out resumes to a million people, but without experience, how can you convince an employer to even look at your resume or talk you? 

Thanks for being here.  And...thanks for trying to keep things positive.  I appreciate the helpful positive answers on this board, not just a gripe board. 

Oops, now I see, no amount of outpatient experience prepares you for Inpatient coding - Shay

[ In Reply To ..]
I really want to do inpatient coding. I'm an acute care kind of girl, have done MT work in all specialties, but now I'm assuming I should find a program to help me pass the CCS.

Do you think having the CCS, without experience would be meaninful to employers and help me land a job?