A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Can a new grad pass the CCS, CPC? I just did - AndrewsGrad

Posted: Jan 08, 2012

Someone just asked, so I'll answer.  Yes, it is very possible.  I graduated 1 1/2 years ago from Andrews School but then waited to take the exams (personal reasons).

I just started back on track to get the credentials.  I passed the CPC this fall and passed the CCS this week.   Even with the long delay between the end of school and my credentialing exams, I passed both on the first try.

I have NOT worked a single day as a coder.  I am a working medical transcriptionist. 

There ARE schools that absolutely do teach the necessary skills.  The student just has to learn them.  Your choice of school makes an incredible difference.  This has always been true though.  I've been saying it for years in transcription.  Choose your school well, and the skills (should you choose to learn them) will come.  Cool

AndrewsGrad, CCS, CPC-A

Congratulations on passing both of those! - Impressed

[ In Reply To ..]
That's very impressive. I hope you did something very nice for yourself to celebrate this week.

Congratulations! - Butterflies

[ In Reply To ..]
Good job! Your post has inspired me. I am about to start the course next week--supplies on the way. Wish they would get here tomorrow because self-doubting questions keep popping into my head, but your post is encouraging.

Excellent News For All of us who want to do the same thing - Congratulations!

[ In Reply To ..]
I hope we hear from more people who have passed the CCS exam. This is a major accomplishment. Now if your success would just rub off on everyone else who wants to pass it but afraid to take it.

That brings me to a question. Were you terrified when you went to take the test?

Was I terrified? No, not really... - AndrewsGrad

[ In Reply To ..]
Half the battle is to know you are studying the correct material, prepare well, and get to the end of the test.