A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

New grad MT w/ IC questions - NGMT

Posted: Jul 16, 2011

Hello, MTs! I recently graduated in June with high honors (3.90 GPA) from EvCC's MT program. I just started to look for employment, but I am having a difficult time finding a company who will take a chance with me. I knew how hard it was going to be prior to school, but I didn't think it would be this hard. I worked my hardest thinking I might have a higher chance if I graduated with a high GPA. Unfortunately, that does not seem to be the case for me.

I have applied to 6 companies since the 11th. I was given the opportunity to test for 2 so far. For the first company, Nuance, I passed their screening and objective parts, but I failed their practicum test. I know they can't give out any information about the test, but I wish I could have at least been informed of my score and/or how they graded it. I've e-mailed and called them, but they haven't responded since. Anyway, at another company, MedScribe, I scored a 48/50 on the objective part, but they immediately denied me because of the lack of experience (I think they were looking for someone with at least 3 years.) I haven't heard back from the other 4 as of date.

I decided I can't afford to be so picky about where I want to work. At first, I was looking for places that offered only employee status, but seeing as I'm having a difficult time as is, I decided to open all doors. I have very little general transcription work experience, so I know that some companies will (or may?) have their slow seasons; therefore, finding another company to have a contract with might be something to consider to fill in for those times (unless they have a non-compete clause). With that said, I was wondering, is it the same for MT companies? Would it be necessary to have a contract for more than one company, or is that just a bad idea?