A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Severely frusterated new grad - jknewmt

Posted: Sep 07, 2010

I have been a new grad since July 2010 and have been actively looking for employment since May 2010. Everytime I see a posting for a job that requires 2, 3, 6, 7 years experience, I just want to scream. If there is such a need for experienced MT's, then why don't some of these companies train a new MT??? Train a fresh brain, shape them to work for your company? I have several friends who were considering a career as a MT but have already advised them to never do it. I am starting to wonder what I went to college for? I have called soooo many places, apply (on average) for over 40 jobs a day, sent out 100+ resumes, and I get nothing but rejection. I have even offered to volunteer my time but get turned down. I am at a complete loss. What else can a new grad do???

Clinic work - VetMT

[ In Reply To ..]
I've been an MT 41 years. I have seen countless new grads believing they were professionals prepared to take acute care by the tail, only to find they couldn't do it. MTSOs are fully aware of this. To be a good acute care MT *who can actually make a living at it* requires an apprenticeship of sorts, either in a clinic or doctors' offices or in an MTSO that hires new grads for clinic work. A family practitioner covers a wide range of services and would be a great apprenticeship. Some new grads from the 70s are so happy with their original specialty office jobs, they are still there and making more money than I am in QA at this stage of my career. They might be better off, given the pay reductions and layoffs and various other dirty tricks MTSOs have done to worthy MTs in the name of the almighty buck.

I agree with above poster. - sm

[ In Reply To ..]