A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

recent MT grad. - Diane Mortier, RDH

Posted: Oct 26, 2009

I am a recent grad of Allied Medical School's MT program.

I am signed up for an AIM internship.

I am wondering about the long wait to get started working.

I am a Registered Dental Hygienist for 20 years, and my education

in this field completely prepared me for the "real" world of work

right after passing the Boards.

I am very disgruntled about my on-line MT training and now, seemingly, non-existent

internship.

Advise and stories appreciated.

From Vermont,

Diane Mortier, RDH

Recent grad - gourdpainter

[ In Reply To ..]
My best advice would be to stick with your dental hygeinist career.

And the reason why you want to get in this field? - Lynn

[ In Reply To ..]
Do you read the boards about others trying to go back to school and trying to get out of this? I would think if you did you would think about this really hard. What do you have besides training to be a dental technician? Background of any kind in transcription work?

Maybe you should look for some specialty work - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
in the dental field. I have done some reports for dentists, and you may have an advantage with your background. Have you done any testing? I've heard some companies will hire you if you do well enough on the test regardless of your experience. By the way, the last sentence of your post should read "Advice" and not "Advise" because advice is a noun and advise is a verb. You may have just made a typo, but since you are looking for a job, I though I should point it out.

recent MT grad. - Diane Mortier, RDH - Nancy

[ In Reply To ..]
I graduated from At-Home Professions in September of this year and am still looking for my first position also.

I think if we keep trying the doors will open up and someone crediable will give us a chance.

Similar Messages:

Advice For New Grad
Feb 16, 2010