A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

frustrated with "secret" starting pay - cathybmt

Posted: Apr 29, 2012

I find myself "shopping" for another MT company and have really had it with the "competative pay" rather than just coming right out and telling what they start their MT's at - anyone else?

I really want this amount listed as some applications/tests are just not worth my time.  I have 15 years of experience to offer these people and am tired of being treated as a begger when I ask their pay scale before wasting my time.

I would love it if all of us working now would just post our cpl or report pay on an entry level, listing it first by company name.

Landmark - 8 cpl straight typing

[ In Reply To ..]
I'll bite.

Unfortunately some companies offer different rates - AnonToo

[ In Reply To ..]
For the same tier and experience. For example I was offered 0.5 more per line straight typing and 0.5 (I think it might have been 0.7) than another friend who got the same tier, same shift, and same company within 2-3 days of each other of interviewing and SAME interviewer.

ITA I won't bother sending my resume if/when I was searching to someone that didn't list their rates (unless I knew ahead of time via another transcriptionist) or offered less than 0.8 a line for training rates. It's crazy.

Nuance..... 0.815 straight and 0.413 editing - - me2

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

Ditto - Nuance - 0.815 straight and 0.413 editing - NuanceMT

[ In Reply To ..]
Nm but have a great day!

Depends on account - Not all accounts are the same

[ In Reply To ..]
Some accounts within the same company also have different pay rates depending on what the account itself is willing to pay for. Do they want someone with more experience and are willing to pay for it? Some times. Do they only want the bare minimum and are only willin to pay that? Some times.

There's no one flat rate any more, although 8 cpl is the most common one.