A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Radiology Transcription Rate Question - Old Acute Care MT

Posted: Nov 14, 2012

Hello all.  I am a very experienced acute care MT, 13 yrs in the business, all specialties, ESLs, all work types, etc.  I have been wanting to get out of the MTSOs for quite some time.

I was recently offered an in-office job at a radiology center for part front-office work and part radiology transcription.  I was very clear to them that I had no specific training in either, but they actually hired me.  I am tickled pink.  I think my acute care experience helped in terms of the rad transcription, so I appreciate that offer. 

However, the pay for the rad trans was $1.50 per report, but I do not have a frame of reference as to that is fair or not. I think it was a generous offer since they know I have no rad experience. Note that I have experience in hundreds of dictators in all other acute care specialties (which the office knows), but am wondering if $1.50 report is reasonable anyway. I also am very clear of anatomy when it comes to MRI type reports and CT scans where parts of the body are mentioned.  My weakness would be x-ray beam names and equipment machine names.

The front office part of my training would be separate, and I'm clear there on their offer and fairness since I have ZERO office training.

What do you all think of $1.50 per radiology report, in someone who has done everything else and has a good ear. I also would be just transcribing for one dictator.

Thanks so much.  I have a big decision to make. Finally, a chance to get out of this MTSO horrible rut, so any input, positive or negative, is much obliged, including the possible demise of radiology transcription.  Actually, one of the things that attracted me to the job was the clerical work, but I still need to factor in the MT radiology part in my decision.

Rad trans - Hula

[ In Reply To ..]