A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Keystrokers, regarding earlier layoff post - FrustratedMT

Posted: Jun 12, 2014

I do not know what I can mention here, but was the HR person’s first name who was let go start with a K? 

I ask because I replied to their job posting that stated they were rolling back the clock and needed to hire 40 MTs.  I sent in my resume in response to the pediatrics account because a while back, I was an MT at a children’s hospital in a very large city.  I stated I knew my skills were old but that I was submitting my resume anyway for their consideration.  I received a reply back from this HR person (name begins with K) that she felt she could use me.  I was happy to hear it.  I tested for them and passed, even though I have been doing strictly radiology for at least 6 years.  Then, as I am sure you know, my computer was tested, and my upload speed did not meet their minimum requirements.  I talked with my current ISP, but they could do nothing to improve my upload of 0.5 bpms.  So, I sent a note stating that I would contact my former cable provider.  I kept in touch via email as to the progress of install date.  Because my high-speed DSL internet provider did not port my phone number and the original order was wrong at order taking, there was a delay, but again, I was thanked for letting her know.  To net it out, my install date was 6/6, and I was up and running.  I received a note that she, “K,” would let their IT folks know.  They were to call me to test my computer.  I never heard anything.  I sent a couple of notes inquiring if the jobs had been filled.  I have never heard a word back.  In good faith, I did what I needed to do to have my upload speed meet their minimum requirement, and in the end, my upload speed now far exceeds their minimum requirement, but I am paying a fairly high price for that “ultimate” upgrade.