A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Speech Recognition - Production question - Skroe

Posted: Oct 06, 2011

I have a job offer but it includes speech recognition editing.  I have never done this before.  Could someone tell me typically how many lines per hour on average you can edit, so I have a basis on whether or not income-wise this would make sense to do?  Also, what is the going rate for speech recognition editing, line rate?

Oh, my goodness, Skroe. The answers cover such a broad range. - I hope you have been reading the

[ In Reply To ..]
archives for answers. Pay rates range from about 3 cpl to about 7 cpl. Some companies provide raw reports that require very little editing, ergo the low cpl rate, some a great deal of editing, ergo the many complaints that reports could have been transcribed faster. Reasonable LPH targets range from maybe 250 to 700--depending.

I hope you see that you really need to find out from your prospective employer what editors are producing on the accounts you'll be working.

With experience and using your expander and possibly other programs to speed you up, you can expect to get significantly faster over time. Posts here and elsewhere offer tips on what's working for others.

It may be best to go for it, in any case, or find a job that will allow you to do both transcription and editing. You are now well behind the trend and need to develop this skill if you are to stay in this field. Best wishes.

Speech Recognition Production - cr

[ In Reply To ..]