A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

What is rock bottom, anyway? - Stikaforkinme...

Posted: Dec 28, 2011

I worked all day today for less than what I made per day in 1985, at my second-ever transcription job. I hang by a thread to my rental home (already lost home I owned) and belongings, as do so many others...each day I force my gnarled and painful fingers to their respective limits, well beyond their limitations, eeking out just another hour...this hour for the cat's food, another hour to pay the internet bill, so I can work another hour...and so on. I remember when I was in my mid 20's, I had an older friend who told her husband what I was doing for a living, typing at home. He was aghast! He couldn't believe that a smart, young, beautiful woman (his words) was sitting at home, typing for a living. I always remember this response, though I heard it only second-hand, as it struck a chord, even then, although I vehemently defended my actions, or life's choice, at the time, naturally. It made perfect sense at the time, for a variety of highly defendable reasons, to 'work at home,' didn't it? Didn't it? Didn't it once make sense?

Oh yes it certainly did! My how times have changed. - nm

[ In Reply To ..]
x

the good news is - sm

[ In Reply To ..]
If indeed we have hit rock bottom, which I do think we have, the only way to go is up.

So, lets just go up!

You must be under 40... - Stikaforkinme

[ In Reply To ..]
Love the enthusiasm of youth! Don't change!

You can't say that - sm

[ In Reply To ..]