A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Questions re. How Employees Work At Home - deadre

Posted: Jun 24, 2010

I'm a recent graduate of an MT program and have been reading a lot on the board about different companies and how they work. Could some of you nice people explain briefly how MTs who work at home as employees of a company do some things? There's an awful lot of info out there on the boards to try to take in! I assume one would log in and out on their computer at the beginning and end of a shift. It sounds like most company's employees do work set shifts - right? I actually did a couple of transcription jobs a while back for a company that did general transcription. It was all via internet (I had a very difficult time getting their files through the FTP/server). They worked on a turnaround time deadline. They would send me an email with the deadline and I would respond yes or no to whether I could do it. Then I was on my own as to when to do it, as long as it was completed by the deadline. I have read posts on this board about sitting around waiting for work to come, which may or may not. Then also about jobs being "picked" from a queue evidently available to multiple MTs. Even about being penalized for taking a bathroom break. I would really appreciate some enlightenment from some employees of different companies to get an idea of how they work. Thanks a lot in advance, deadre

There are variations but... - sapient

[ In Reply To ..]
I've worked as an employee for a hospital at home, as an employee for a MTSO (service), and as an IC for an MTSO.

As a hospital employee I used their computer. I would use my home telephone to clock into their time system. Then I would work my 8 hours making sure I was hitting the required average lines per hour. I was paid hourly.