A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Question for third shift MTs... - passing through

Posted: Jun 14, 2010

I have been working third shift for about three months and am still having some trouble getting used to it.  My question is do you work your shift then go to sleep or do you stay up until later in the afternoon and then sleep until your shift starts.  I work a 10 p.m. to 6 a.m. and am trying to find the best way to be able to stay awake during my shift.  I do not drink coffee.  I have tried some of those energy drinks that are sugar free, which helped some, just now wondering how others handle it.  Thanks ~michelle

night shift - been there

[ In Reply To ..]
I KNOW OF WHAT YOU SPEAK!!! You have described me to a tee. I have done that since Easter and still not used to it. This is the first time I have ever worked this shift (used to 5 a.m. to 2 p.m.) I am also 10-6. I do go right to bed at 6 a.m. but I am never able to sleep past 10 or 11, definitely not enough sleep. Then I sometimes take a "nap" around 8 or 9 p.m. but if I do sleep, I wake up tired and stay tired the rest of the night. I now set my cell phone alarm for every half hour just in case. I know I have fallen asleep at my computer, especially if the dictators are boring and monotone and I blame it on them that I fall asleep.

Well, to correct my problem and get some sleep, I have quit this job and going back to 5 a.m. to 2 p.m. and I can hardly wait. I have heard you either "love" or "hate" the third shift. I am too darn old for this. It is really messing up my life and those around me. And people are telling me how tired I look, and I agree.

Sorry about your situation, but been there, done that. Good luck, but I don't have an anwer for you. I know there may be others, but I just made it easy on myself and quit the job. An easy way out, maybe but . . .

nightshift - nan

[ In Reply To ..]