A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

Newbies, know it alls, and constant complainers - Catfarm

Posted: Jul 26, 2014

I don't understand why when newbies ask valid questions they are answered by rude know it alls who have 5+ years' experience and think they are much better than someone just starting out.  We all used to be newbies.  I have 20+ years' experience and I do not think I know everything. I learn something new everyday and am willing to help anyone who needs help. Also, MTs that complain their hands hurt from editing all day, try straight transcribing all day long without using a program that pulls in the demos automatically (I'm talking about using MS-DOS).  Take some Tylenol and be happy you have a job.

Newbies, know it alls--- - do you feel better?

[ In Reply To ..]
nm

I think most people are just trying - to help newbies

[ In Reply To ..]
avoid a mistake. This is the absolute worst time to get into the field. No one is going to hire someone without experience except for very low pay, and then how can a newbie make a living? All the reasons newbies look into being an MT has changed: Pay has dropped to where many are barely making minimum wage, stress level is high, mandatory weekends and holidays are the norm, and flexibility is almost nonexistent.

And regarding hand pain with VR and "just take some Tylenol". You have no clue. It's the repetitive nature and awkward finger placement on edit keys. With MTSOs' "active time" demands resulting in hours of repetitive hand motions with few breaks, it is much, much different than straight transcription, with more wear and tear on the hands.

Newbies - Anonymous one

[ In Reply To ..]