A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

ICing: "Hidden" Costs - Anonymous99

Posted: Dec 30, 2009

While I'm a veteran MT and former MTSO, I just had my first experience as an IC.  No doubt some here are veteran ICs who have already learned about what I have dubbed "hidden" costs.  I am posting this in the hopes that it helps some other newbies to ICing who, like me, are looking for extra work because they need the income. 

During my initial phone interview, the manager of the company told me, "All you need is Windows XP, MS Word, Excel, an expander program (such as Shorthand 10), and a USB footpedal."  They would provide all other software.

Lessee:  High-speed internet (cable) -- check, Windows XP -- check, MS Word -- check, Excel substitute (Open Office) is free -- check.  Expander program about $27 for a year, and about $85 for the footpedal, so my initial start-up costs will be about $112.  I can handle that!