A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

I was warned of a potential bad employer by checking - Tin ear

Posted: Apr 30, 2013

this forum and I backed out because I had to purchase software and would be "micromanaged" too closely. I found myself on the offensive and caught the recruiter off guard because I told him I had no money to buy software because MTs are so poor. It was beautiful just to hear his jaw drop! I felt tremendous just to boycott this industry in my own way.

Do not believe everything you read.... - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
It is extremely sad to read posts such as these. Most posts against companies are due to posters who had an ax to grind in some form or another, mostly because they were called on QA,and not reality, at least in my experience. Also, not to in any way put you down, but in order to make money, you have to spend money as well. You never know until you tried...

Case in point: As a newbie, I took a job on page count when I had only heard of line count. Luckily, I took it, as it was the very most profitable job I ever had, making more money than most in 1 month than most people make in 1 year.

Take everything you read with a grain of salt. There are always 2 sides to a coin.

Yes, do take it with a grain of salt, including the cheerleading posts. - anon

[ In Reply To ..]
There are people with an ax to grind who post here, but there are also people who speak the truth.

I used to come on this board 10 years or so ago and the tone was entirely different. There were lots of happy MTs who would sing the praises of their MTSO and very few disgruntled posters.

Fast forward 10 years and this board is basically nothing but negativity.

It would be ridiculous to think that a new breed of nasty, negative MTs sprang forth rather than that the industry has changed and MTSOs no longer treat the MT with any respect.