A community of 30,000 US Transcriptionist serving Medical Transcription Industry

How do they sell these VR programs?? - poorhouse

Posted: Dec 18, 2013

I'm assuming the software vendors talk the clients into how much they'll save by paying editors to fix this crap.  There is no way someone would buy into this software if they knew what it really looked like in draft form...omg.  It would not surprise me if the software vendor slipped a few Benjamins under the table to a willing doc at the facility and had him "train" the software before the presentation to the client.  The doc goes in, reads from a script, and near perfection pops out on the screen.  All I ever see is a screen full of unbelievable crap and that's with a decent dictator! 

I've been working with VR now for about 4 years and I have yet to see any platform ever "learn" a damn thing.

It CAN learn - But...

[ In Reply To ..]
It can't learn the way it's done at the MTSOs. You don't just put a 300-bed hospital on a system. Each doc needs to be trained, then all MTs have to be on the same page with corrections, etc., and we know that just doesn't happen.

In terms of clinic, many doctors do use it on their own (no MT or MTSO)quite successfully. They just edit as they go.

I know someone who sells it. I don't think he goes out and recruits, word just gets around--or a potential client punches in a Google. The person I know who sells it is extremely honest and quite forthright about what the machine can and can't do. He trains the doc to see if he's a candidate, and if the doc isn't, he won't sell it to him.

Don't blame the VR, blame the MTSOs for thinking it can do somethning it can't.

Difference between front end and back end SR - sm

[ In Reply To ..]